Man of Steel - Superman

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

07 July 2014
Man of Steel - Superman

Here's my latest project...Superman from the Man of Steel movie. I've seen the benchmarks set by people such as Bigguns and Kybel so that's the standard I'm aiming for...let's see how close I can get!

C&C is very much appreciated.

07 July 2014
Nice character!
Off to a good start. At the moment the thing I most miss is the character's face isnt really superman to me yet. Usually he has a very square face with the features being a little smaller than normal. The guy I see here is maybe a little too normal.

Looking forward to seeing this develop.

Cheerio

07 July 2014
Thanks Kanga. I'm basing this on Henry Cavill from the Man of Steel movie so maybe that's why he looks more 'normal' and less of an ideal Superman.

07 July 2014
Ah so, ok.
Yeah I saw the film but I am not a great expert on who is who where actors go. First thing is to ask yourself what you want from this piece. I would assume we all want to take things to the max for all sorts of reasons. With that in mind entertainment is an illusion and posters of actors are retouched to make them as attractive as possible, so if you want a good response you will have to do the same. The face is really good, just not exciting. Your sculpt is less attractive than the face on the poster and this has nothing to do with textures, it has to do with base forms. The face here should amplify what we feel superman is as a character. If you are trying to make a body double then you could just get a scan of the actors head and clean it up I suppose.

If you just finish this off as it is you will end up with something middle of the road, is that what you want?

07 July 2014
My aim is to make this as photorealistic and as close to the real thing as possible, so yeah I'd say I was making a digi double.