Cyberpunk self portrait!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2013   #1
Cyberpunk self portrait!

Hi everybody!
I heard this place is wonderful for learning and critiquing, so I figured if you guys could help me with a major university project, that'd be awesome!
Okay, so I'm a student at Media Design School in New Zealand and we have a two week summative to do a self portrait in the style of steam/cyber punk. It's just the bust, and I intend on posting my entire progress over the next two weeks on here, and hopefully get some sweet feedback from you guys! Anyway, enough talking, here is the beginning of my project.

I know this isn't exactly 3D, and I apologize if I've selected the wrong forum, but trust me, the concept art will only be a minor part of this. I plan to model it primarily with Zbrush, Maya and retopolgize with topogun. This is just a quick analysis drawing of my face, what I believe to be the muscle and bone structure.

From this I started coming up with concept ideas (see the green) based on what the certain elements of the form offered me. I've already collected a lot of reference of basically anything remotely mechanical related from the internet, but if anyone finds any nice materials/objects that could be used to enhance it, that would be much appreciated! I'm trying my best to get the best research and planning I can.

I know I'm not the best at drawing, but it's the thought that counts!
Enjoy.

Old 07 July 2013   #2
Progress!

So after a morning of mapping out ideas, I narrowed it down to a few concepts, varying levels of mechanical dependancy.