CGTalk > Work in Progress and Critique > WIP/Critique: 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2013, 10:33 PM   #46
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACantarel
Check out this script to adjust all meshsmooth, turbosmooth and other modifiers in your scene in one go:

Modifier Zorb Tools

Meshsmooth and turbosmooth are basically the same. Meshsmooth has more control than the turbosmooth but is slower. Check the 3ds max manual for a detailed description.
It's up to you which gun you want to model

Did you check your units? Is all to correct scale? I strongly recommend you model to scale.
Check some basic tutorials showing how to apply ambient occlusion onto your renderings. It's an easy thing to do and depending on what you use; there are plenty of helping tutorials online and of course the manual


thank you.
I still do not understand this scale.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 10:36 PM   #47
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kas
Man, in your tank all it's out of scale. I've got many tanks on my collection.
One clue: Use the blueprints only for take the basic shape of your tank, then work with real images.
Two clue: See the detail in whatever piece of your model, normally use Turbosmooth to level 0 but in the square of render push 2 ;-) The object in the bview will be real LOW, but in the render will be smoothed.
I'm doing also a Challenger 2, ;-)
Good Luck
PD. The Challie it's more difficult for your first tank

I really do not understand this scale. How do I leave the Turbosmooth only rendering as you mentioned there?
thanks for the tips and good luck for us.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 10:41 PM   #48
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
see the picture, I made the same size. So do not understand why being out of scale.

 
Old 07-11-2013, 11:04 PM   #49
ACantarel
Helicopter-Guy
 
ACantarel's Avatar
portfolio
Andre Cantarel
CG Model Supervisor
santa Monica, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,310

I really recommend reading the manual when it comes to system units.

Customize -> Units Setup -> System Unit Setup -> 1 Unit = 1.0 - Centimeters

Then there are the Display Units which just displays those system units in a way you are used to. I have those set to cm as well; a lot of people I know in the US are used to inches so they set those to inches.

My case:
Customize -> Units Setup - Display Unit Scale set to Metric - Centimeters.


So once you set your units you can start modeling to real scale. That means if you put a person into your scene which is 180cm in real life, it is 180cm tall in your scene.
So if your tank is let's say 7 meters long you can scale the plane which shows your blueprint down or up so it is 7 meters long. The resulting model will then be to scale.

i can imagine that your tank is either gigantic or tiny once you set your system units to cm.
Just group everything, set the pivot to 0,0,0 and scale the whole thing up or down so it matches the real measurements.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 11:33 PM   #50
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
Now I understand, already found a good material ambient occlusion here and I will read the manual for sure. Although I can not read English dedicate myself as much to understand.

Many thanks to everyone who has that kind of patience with me.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 11:42 PM   #51
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
look at the scale of the tank, sure a tank has 312 CM (3 meters) right?
I search measures and the scene.

Many thanks to all

 
Old 07-12-2013, 12:04 AM   #52
Telemachus
Expert
 
Telemachus's Avatar
portfolio
Mo Ali
n/a
Birmingham, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACantarel
@Telemachus: "The screenshot isn't full resolution" - Uhm did you click onto the image to see it in full res? I'm confused


I was referring to his screenshots, not yours.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 02:16 AM   #53
ACantarel
Helicopter-Guy
 
ACantarel's Avatar
portfolio
Andre Cantarel
CG Model Supervisor
santa Monica, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,310

Oh my fault; for whatever reasonI red "seven digits" and therefore thought you were referring to my screenshot which has 7.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 05:43 AM   #54
Kas
Know-it-All
 
Kas's Avatar
portfolio
Iñaki Karras
Valencia, España
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 343
Send a message via MSN to Kas
See this . About your scale, you can see , yours top hatchs by example, has a irreal mesure, or your M-2 Cal.50 machine gun. Isn't real scale, you must fix real scale, use real images for do it.

__________________
My New Blog, Tanks 3D
http://thetankmaker.blogspot.com/
 
Old 07-12-2013, 01:34 PM   #55
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kas
See this . About your scale, you can see , yours top hatchs by example, has a irreal mesure, or your M-2 Cal.50 machine gun. Isn't real scale, you must fix real scale, use real images for do it.


Hmmm ... interesting, so I guess I'll have to make another.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 01:52 PM   #56
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
how do I install this Modifier Modifier Zorb? already downloaded all but the site says to extract "3ds max Dir"
could significantly reduce the number of polygons however, is still high.
then need this plugin to get the Turbosmooth everything and put it this way only in the render.

Last edited by tolansky : 07-12-2013 at 04:10 PM.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 06:36 PM   #57
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
ambient occlusion


and was unable to install the plugin had to do this procedure piece by piece. Also reduce the amount of polygons 101 720 762 to 15,321,289.




Researched measures of the tank to change the scale found these
Length: 11,55 m
Height: 3.52 m
Width: 2.49 m
already .50 what do you think I should do? to change scale or another model? I thought this was a good gun model, made ​​corrections of proportion just missing this same scale.

I am very anxious to finish and see the result!

#edit post
took measures after climbing, what do you think?

Last edited by tolansky : 07-12-2013 at 07:34 PM.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 07:52 PM   #58
Kas
Know-it-All
 
Kas's Avatar
portfolio
Iñaki Karras
Valencia, España
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 343
Send a message via MSN to Kas
Your track links are too biggers and not reals. Are more complicated, with a few of patient......only must to do one , the rest are copies.
Forget the external measures, if you model has the same that the blueprint, is on scale, but the small pieces also must be in the same scale, Cal.50, Cal. 30 track link, hatches, wires, wheels, screws, bolts, scopes, gun, exhausts, etc,etc in the blueprint it's more difficult see them, but in a real pictures, it's more easy, view it, usa google images for this.

__________________
My New Blog, Tanks 3D
http://thetankmaker.blogspot.com/
 
Old 07-12-2013, 07:54 PM   #59
tolansky
Frequenter
portfolio
Eduardo
Brazil
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kas
Your track links are too biggers and not reals. Are more complicated, with a few of patient......only must to do one , the rest are copies.


I did modify

Last edited by tolansky : 07-12-2013 at 08:00 PM.
 
Old 07-12-2013, 07:58 PM   #60
Kas
Know-it-All
 
Kas's Avatar
portfolio
Iñaki Karras
Valencia, España
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 343
Send a message via MSN to Kas
See my Challenger I and compare with your model. Do not rush, step by step everything goes out
__________________
My New Blog, Tanks 3D
http://thetankmaker.blogspot.com/
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.