Help!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Help!

okay, so I am still a little new to the whole 3D game and i was hoping you guys could help me in assessing what i am doing wrong with this ...

I have attached an image - on the left is what i want it to look like, nice and vibrant text
and on the right is what i've got, the light is all washed out and the colours look pants!

What exactly am I doing wrong?
Is it the texture that needs making more saturated? should I add a specular map? does the lights need changing (which reminds me, I am just using 1 standard directional light on the render)

cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg help.jpg (73.0 KB, 64 views)

Old 05 May 2013   #2
Yes to all the above. And if the logo doesn't need to be in a scene in any way shape or form, just render your image and do a bunch of touch ups in photoshop.

Old 05 May 2013   #3
I'm afraid I'm not fully understanding what you are suggesting Geta-Ve ^_^;;

It is something I have been asked to do for a friend - she wants the logo (which is the 2D image on the left of the picture i previously posted) in a 3D format and then rotated into a small animation - so i kinda need the logo looking good at all angles

Old 05 May 2013   #4
Mate, you obviously are a beginner with 3d. nothing wrong with that, but short of walking you through ever single step, i'm not sure what we can do since your image needs a LOT of work.

if the logo is rotating, then why is the wall there? get rid of it, as its bringing the image down.
Put a nice bright spotlight above and to the side slightly of the logo, so it shines on the front

Look up some material tutorials for appropriate shaders. Apply them to this

Bevel the edges of your logo slightly, that will lend some realism

Put a reflection layer in your material and put an HDRI image in your environment at a low setting, keep it subtle.