Uni Enviroment Project

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
Uni Enviroment Project

Hey guys, this is my official first post on CgSociety! I'm currently in my first year of university studying computer arts. We have been given a task to create any 3d Environment of our choice.

I began researching and came across this great, vibrant concept art by Soeke Christian Siedel :

I really wanted to create a bright and colorful cartoon/painterly environment, with simple shapes and lighting but at the same time creating a great atmosphere. Other examples of inspiration i used and put in my sketchbook were from Bastion, Pedro Conti and David Smit.

So the environment I'm creating for this project is loosely based on this concept. As the brief stated "Research the work of an artist you admire, and use their work as a starting point". I began to block out my environment using basic shapes,moving, scaling and regularly rendering seeing if certain changes i made would look good. I would show you my drawn up concept but it is very basic and haven't scanned it in. Hopefully you will get the idea.

Here is what i got so far :

Old 03 March 2013   #2
For this project i am using Maya with Vray. At the moment i am quite happy with my basic lighting setup, which consists of a VraySphereLight that acts as a direct sun light with no decay turn on and a VrayLightDome that brightens the scene up and give me soft shadows.

What i really want to achieve is a much more interesting, colouful lighting setup with a painterly/fantasy (fluffy clouds) sky backdrop that pours colour into the scene from HDRI lighting. Obviously things will get more interesting when begin to texture things. As a new user to Vray it would be great if i could get help/feedback on how i'm approaching this.

Old 03 March 2013   #3