Photo-realistic macaroons?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
Photo-realistic macaroons?

Hi, this is my first posting on a forum, so I'm sorry if I'm not posting the way I should.

To develop my photo-realistic shading/lighting/rendering skills, I've made a small scene with macaroons on a plate. Because I want to work on my Maya and mentalray skills, I only want to use Maya and mentalray rather than touching up in photoshop.

I got this far but I think it still looks obviously CG.
Could I get some constructive criticism on how I can improve the look of the macaroons and the scene?

Because I'm still learning the software, if you could tell me which shaders or attributes to play with too to make the change, that would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance!

====Breakdown====

The macarons are currently using a Phong material with a small scatter radius, specular and reflective values.
(BTW, changing the scatter fall-offdidn't seem to change the render. The only attribute that seems to make a difference is the scatter colour; I can't figure out why. )

The plates are using a mia_material with GlazedCeramic preset.

The scene is using an image based lighting. There is also a low intensity directional light to make it a bit brighter, and a spot light so macarons can have some specular highlighting.

The camera has a depth of field on it, and also increased dofLensSamples to make the blur smoother.

Old 03 March 2013   #2
I have some ideas, but maybe not the specific shader settings - anyway, maybe it'll be helpful.

- composition - it's not very interesting. And the cut-off cup in the background isn't helping, same as the greens (plant?), they distract from the subject.
Take a look here: http://500px.com/photo/1057960
This is just an example - but it's a nice image.