Honours Project: Female 3D Character

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

03 March 2013
Honours Project: Female 3D Character

Hi there! I'm a student who is pretty new to 3D and even newer at modelling characters and posting on CG forums so bear with me.

I'm a 4th year student at university, and for my honours project I aim to model a female character using Maya and Zbrush.

By posting on here I hope to gain constructive critique and feedback to put into my dissertation from all sorts of skilled 3D artists, from hobbyists to professionals.

The character pictures was modeled in Maya and I am hoping to gain feedback on the topology, form and other key elements which might be helpful when writing an evaluation

I am hoping to venture into character design for games and I have built this character with that in mind. Trying to keep the polycount low etc.

I will keep posting pictures of my progress.

Thanks a lot!

Hey, I am new on here so I am still getting used to how forums work, having never really used one before. I am a student in my 4th year at university, and for my honours project I am attempting to model and texture a car to look photorealistic.

I am hoping by putting up some WIP pics on here I will be able to get some helpful feedback from people who know about 3D matters.

Last edited by Cableton : 03 March 2013 at 03:55 PM. Reason: Posted wrong link for pictures

03 March 2013
No pictures

03 March 2013
You post the page link not the picture link

03 March 2013
Woops! Okay, original post has been fixed. Sorry about that,

03 March 2013
Accidental double post. Apologies.

Last edited by Cableton : 03 March 2013 at 03:51 PM.

03 March 2013
Update!

I've ran the model through ZBrush to create the high poly mesh with clothing sculpted onto the model. Overall I think it's okay for a first try except for the hair which is a bit meh.