Old 03-16-2013, 06:30 PM   #1
Telemachus
Expert

portfolio
Mo Ali
n/a
Birmingham, United Kingdom

ATE SuperHind Mk.III / Mil Mi-24

Hi there. Although i've been around here for a long time I haven't posted much. As a brief introduction, I'm a self-taught British 3D modeller who has been trying to get into the 3D industry for the last seven years. I keep modelling because I enjoy it so much and I like challenging myself.

I was really inspired by Cantarel's Pave Hawk helicopter several years ago and wanted to make my own, and in 2008 finally made a start on it. I didn't get too far, and by the time I got back to it my improved skills justified starting from scratch. I've been dabbling with it these last few years and hope to ramp up my progress this year - call it something of a New Years' resolution.

The helicopter I chose was the ATE SuperHind Mk. III. I chose it because the reference for it is sparse and would therefore be a big challenge. This helicopter is ugly but beautiful and has a lot of character. It is based on the Mi-24 Hind D and shares perhaps 90% of the features, but is faster and lighter with improved weaponry and avionics. Since the two machines are so similar I figured I would try to make both. It would add value to the final model to be able to repurpose it by swapping a few parts around.