Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 02-28-2013, 12:01 AM   #1
Hatoboreka

portfolio
Ehsen sonny
Student
United Kingdom

Talking 1st Post! Uni project, Please be harsh!

Hey everyone! I'm sonny, 18 and I have about a year of experience in modelling.
This is my 2nd uni project, its an animation assignment, but we were given creative freedom! So I decided to make a huge futuristic city.

The animation is a basic camera moment from bottom to top and then a birds eye view of the city rotating to generate power its own power. The city/country is in solitude and the only humans that have survived the "Invasion" (Mate paintings of alien eggs all over the earth!)

I have taken on allot more than I can handle, the deadline is in 5 weeks and I'm unhappy with what I have so far, please go ape shit, but please tell me what I'm missing! To me it feels really empty, I still have a few pieces to model on the right wall Also I'm new to Maya and I have no clue as to how I am going to get a realistic render, that's my final aim and I'll do anything to get there just need some critique! Thanks!

Last edited by Hatoboreka : 03-01-2013 at 10:00 AM.

Old 03-01-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
mindgoo
Freelance 3D Illustrator

portfolio
Jon Tuttle
Knightfall 3D
Hatfield, United%2BKingdom

Send a message via MSN to mindgoo
Hi,

Firstly, I like the overall style, good and chaotic. I think what it is lacking is a sense of scale - this looks like a foreground element. To really sell the idea that it is huge, this corridor should potentially stretch on into the distance. Alternatively, to make this look like an alley in the city you could have buildings facing you across a divide, with vehicles / traffic / flying stuff moving from left to right.