Castle Story - Game Models

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2012   #1
Castle Story - Game Models

Hi guys and gals,

So my work was rejected for the gallery, but I would like to share it anyway.

It's with great pleasure I'm finally able to show you what I've been working on for the past 5 months.

I work for a company in California called Storm8. We just put out a game called Castle Story for the iOS and I believe Android, if not yet, then soon. In the beginning stages I was in charge or translating the 2D concepts to 3D assets. I created two buildings (shown below) that described the style we were going for. I was also in charge of creating a light rig and Mel Script so that modeler's would be able to place their model's into the scene, run a Mel Script and have it render. It was my first time using MIP shaders and creating a light rig that a lot of people would be using. I learned a lot from the experience.

From that point on I was in charge of about 90% of the characters, translating them from the 2D concept to 3D. I used Zbrush 4R3 for the modeling, retopo, UV's, textureing and posing/expressions. Maya/Mental Ray was used for rendering. Character's were rendered in pieces so they could be animated in 2D and then the character had expression renders for dialog sequences. There are two forms for each NPC. The first form is when you first meet them, a form that was transformed by the forest. The second form is what they take after you save them.

This is the 6th game I've had a chance to work on in my short career and it's by far my favorite game artistically. I was able to work with such a great team and with some really talented artists.

Enjoy!

Old 10 October 2012   #2
Buildings that didn't fit in the first post.

Old 10 October 2012   #3
Great work. love the character.. the first character have weird corner eyes

Old 10 October 2012   #4