Veteran
portfolio
Jared Barrett
I.T. Service Engineer
Quinedge
Johannesburg, South Africa

Wip Creature

Hey guys.
This is a school project i am currently working on and would love feedback on the direction to go or how to improve on the project i am using zbrush as this is my first year in animation i am still a newbie

Bump

Old 09-16-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
MrJuzah
Obsol33t Modeller

portfolio
Jay Lawrence
3D Generalist
London, GB

Send a message via MSN to MrJuzah
Looking alright Custardcs, though at the moment it doesn't look like it has much direction - no amount of skill or talent is going to make up for a well thought out/planned project mate!

Aliens like those in John Carter work because they're grounded in anatomy (be it animal, human, or otherwise) that we recognise. At the moment his face is almost draconic whilst from the sideview the rear of him looks more marine-based - Though the skin detail applied currently is working against this.

To take this to the next level I think you'd benefit from thinking about this characters background, where does it live, what does it do, then find some photographs of relevant references and push bits and pieces around and start working towards him/her being a believable entity.

-----

That aside, the only improvement I can suggest modelling wise is there is no differentiation between bone/muscle - This can be rectified by breaking up the constant smoothness in the surface, skin folds, soft raises/dips in surface where there is more softness to the surface.

A note on the animation side; This is a pretty complex character to be animating in your first year, make sure you keep a low polygon version of the character, or later on look into building a proxy version which is vastly simplified. Then you animate that, and simply wrap your high-res around the animated proxy.

Best of luck!

Old 09-16-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
custardcs
Veteran
portfolio
Jared Barrett
I.T. Service Engineer
Quinedge

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJuzah