Old 09-13-2012, 04:23 AM   #1
Victariand
Veteran

portfolio
James Rosenkranz
Ready at Dawn
Los Angeles, USA

Launching Spaceship

For a personal project, I've always wanted to take a crack at recreating a painting in 3d - and see how that goes. Anyway, I rather like the work of John Berkey - so I selected a painting and got started.

I've got much of the initial modeling out of the way, so I am just beginning a lighting blockout before moving onto an initial material pass. I am a tad unsure as to how best to set up the lighting in a scene like this - so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Anyway, any C&C is welcome.

thanks!

Old 09-13-2012, 12:16 PM   #2
Scote
just a creator

portfolio
Samuel Cote
3D Artist / FX Coordinator
Montreal, Canada

nice,

but you need to work the textures well if you want to correct your composition

Old 09-13-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
PKD
Lord of the posts

portfolio
Kiadaw Phua
Hobbyist not Hobbit
Germany

Nice work. Whats the little hill at the bottom of the picture?

No critics on the modeling, but I feel the picture looks a little flat, or lack of perspective. Ths aircraft blend too much into the background, every thing is so vertical or lined up(verticial from the buildings, as well as the aircraft)

Maybe you can consider change to a more interesting perspective, & the aircraft tilt a little to suggest movement.

Old 09-13-2012, 03:30 PM   #4
Dillster
Always Learning

portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Student
Still in college
Dublin, Ireland

How long have you spent on this so far? What is the ground hump under the aircraft for? Nice work so far. All I can suggest is you use a wider lens angle and move in closer so the background drops back more and give the image more depth. As it is, there is a telephoto look to it which makes everything look crammed together.
Looking forward to seeing this finished.

Old 09-13-2012, 04:24 PM   #5
Artbot
Mostly Harmless

CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Richard Green
The Man Who Sold the World
USA