WIP female character - need feedback

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2012
WIP female character - need feedback

Hello everyone,

I am currently building a 3D model of a female character using Maya. The model will eventually be used in a short 3D animation that I'm developing as a student project. I'm still learning how to model and this is only my second attempt at a realistic human character, so I could really use some feedback from more experienced modelers.

I have also modeled some hair, although it still needs a lot of adjustment.

Most importantly, I am looking for help with the character's face. I'm having a lot of trouble making everything look convincingly realistic while still maintaining a high level of appeal and a stylized appearance. I'm also going for a specific likeness to a character design that I've created:

I could also use some feedback on the facial topology, specifically in regards to being a functional and expressive setup for rigging and animation.

All comments are welcome. As I said before, I'm new to modeling, so any feedback at all would be very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Best,
-Robbie

04 April 2012
That's a nice start! However, you have to rethink your proportions. The arms and legs don't match the head and the torso in my opinion. Also, the hands are strange. The thumb is too small compared to the rest of the hand. Furthermore, I would increase the size of the nose. Plus the clavicle and sternum area with the small indentation called the jugulum and the sterno-clavicular joint needs some more work. The clavicle itself is too straight. Look at slender women images to see the difference. After all, this is only your second attempt and for that it's looking pretty good already, so keep it up! Looking forward to some updates...

04 April 2012
Wow! second attempt. Super.