WIP Super Sonic Transport Aircraft

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

12 December 2017
WIP Super Sonic Transport Aircraft

Hello all,

I'm a CG noob working on a model of a fictional supersonic transport aircraft. It is a mash up of an Tupolve Tu-22 supersonic bomber, Convair B-58 supersonic bomber and regular passenger aircraft. I'm using Blender. As a learning resource I'm also usingVirtual Aircraft byWitold Jaworski.

Render of the current version (two man side-by-side flight deck):

Render of previous version (tandem single pilot flight deck):

My ToDo for the model:
- Finish/Improve cockpit windows
- Rework engines and engine pylons
- Add wing/fuselage connection
- Add horizontal/vertical stabilizer details
- Add wing details (flaps, ailerons)
- Add landing gear
- UV unwrapping
- Textures

As said I'm still a modeling noob, so there are some things I'd specificallylike to get some feedback:

For the fuselageI'm using a low circle with 8 edges and using Subsurf modifier for (2 subdivisions) for smoothing. Is this a good approach? Is there a good rule of thumb of base geometry (circle edge numbers vs subs?)

The fine modeling of the cockpit section is really challenging for me. I'm using edge creases to get flat windscreen panels, but I'm finding it really hard to get the desired results with it. For example edges going away from an edge crease have a concave from (screenshot blue line) but actually I'd like it to be convex (red line).

I'm not quit sure how to achievethat while using the edge crease. Also I'm not sure if working on the cockpit details this way (subsurf + crease) is the correct way. Is it better to apply the subsurf and then continue with fine details?

Here are some other pictures of the model layout:

Also any general modeling input would be greatly appreciated!

12 December 2017
You're getting creasing in that area because you have a triangle happening there.