Sculpting heads: Thoughts?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

09 September 2017
Sculpting heads: Thoughts?

Hi everyone! I'm a concept/character artist and I've recently started working in Zbrush with digital sculpting. I really enjoy this work flow but I want to be able to improve and keep moving forward so I'd like any feedback that you all have to offer. These are both WIP, hair and such is coming to both of them.

This is the male sculpt:

And here's the female sculpt:

Edit: Here's the reference used. Sorry for the size.

Female reference: I intentionally slimmed the face down and tried to focus more on the features than the overall shape.

Male Reference:

Last edited by JamesHensonIII : 09 September 2017 at 08:25 PM. Reason: Adding reference shots used for modeling

09 September 2017
Avoid using camera phones or anything with a 35mm lens. 50 to 80mm is safer.You'll get to much distortion. Check out Phillip faraut planes of the face or any of the planes of the face bust that are out there they will help you focus on areas of the face a bit to get started

10 October 2017
I agree with Travis; camera phones distort reference images. As for your Zbrush sculpt, that's a good start. Try bringing their ears a bit forward. Ears are located almost in the middle of the head from the side view. The angular jaw of the female model makes it look masculine, so I'd soften that.
I'd also reduce the subdivision levels to help remove any lumps.

10 October 2017
Look at facial anatomy books or referencesYou can find many great references on pinterest. Your ear seems really back.
I agree with both Halberd and Travis.
Starting low sub-d will help you gain control of your first and secondary forms.

11 November 2017