CGTalk > Sponsored Challenges and Awards > Past Challenges (Archives) > V-Ray Anniversary Challenge: A Decisive Moment
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2012, 06:37 AM   #1
Keenly's Avatar
CGSociety Staff
Rhys Jenkin
Website Admin & Development
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 483
A Decisive Moment - Support Thread

Welcome to the V-Ray Anniversary Challenge: A Decisive Moment Support Thread.

Please read the FAQ, Terms & Conditions and other posts in this thread before asking a question.

Have fun and good luck.

Last edited by keenly : 05-24-2012 at 05:26 AM.
Old 05-15-2012, 09:35 AM   #2
Christopher Parnian
changiz's Avatar
Christopher Parnian
CG Artist
Manila, Philippines
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 122
Send a message via Yahoo to changiz
Cool Wow

Cool . . .

Old 05-15-2012, 10:47 AM   #3
dboydesign's Avatar
Daniel Røsnes
3D Artist/VFX
Storyline Studios AS
Lillestrøm, Norway
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
awesoem stuff!
Old 05-15-2012, 06:11 PM   #4
irwit's Avatar
Will Elliott
Chief Colourer Inner.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,112
Does the pivotal moment need to be real, or can it be fiction?

Also is Photoshop allowed? I know Vue etc is mentioned but there is no mention of how much photoshop is allowed?
"Don't confuse me with the facts, I've got my mind made up"!

Polycount Checker Max script
Old 05-15-2012, 07:42 PM   #5
New Member
Louis Bjarnskov
Mariager, DK
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Trial version?

As i can understand there is only free license for students of the workshop. Because im studying my resources are quite limited! So i was wondering whether you could provide the same license for the less fortunate, like me

Last edited by Bjarnskov75 : 05-15-2012 at 07:47 PM.
Old 05-16-2012, 03:12 AM   #6
melkao's Avatar
Carlos Eduardo Montoya Cortes
animation designer
Medellin, Colombia
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,626
Cool Question!

Can i use plugins for work?..for example sigershaders vray materials?...or arronway or total textures?
Still looking for inteligent life in our planet

Old 05-16-2012, 03:54 PM   #7
mquinta's Avatar
Miguel Quinta
3D Generalist
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 103
Already joined, I just hope I can get something out of it!!

irwit, from what I understand, it can be real or/and fiction. I guess it's the story that matters.
And reading the rules, you can use Photoshop or whatever other software to compo the image
Old 05-16-2012, 09:13 PM   #8
3d Flunky
TwinSnakes's Avatar
Lutha Jenkins
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 335
Did I miss something? Unless the classes are free, how can persons that dont own VRay compete for the prize as VRay is a required component for entries?

What ever happened to "No purchase necessary". Is this even legal?
Old 05-16-2012, 09:14 PM   #9
3d Flunky
TwinSnakes's Avatar
Lutha Jenkins
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 335
Q: What deliverables are there for an image entry?
Final beauty render – rendered in V-Ray.

Yeah, I must have missed something because, what's the point of having VRay as a prize if I already own it?

Last edited by TwinSnakes : 05-16-2012 at 09:17 PM.
Old 05-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #10
Digital mercenary
Asier3d's Avatar
Asier de la Fuente
Illustrator & Graphic Designer
Self employed
Palma de Mallorca, España
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to Asier3d
Can i enter the challenge using Vray for c4d, or only the chaosgroup original is allowed?
Old 05-17-2012, 01:55 PM   #11
Maya Petrova
Sofia, Bulgaria
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 34
Answers to queries regarding V-Ray Challenge

Hi all,

Thanks for your interest in the V-Ray Challenge. In answer to your queries:
- You don't need to purchase V-Ray to enter the challenge. A V-Ray demo version can be downloaded from the Chaos Group website. You only need to create an account to be able to download: The demo produces watermarked images, but this is not a problem for the purposes of the Challenge.

- If you are a student and want to purchase the full version of V-Ray, you can do that at a discounted price. For example V-Ray 2.0 for 3ds Max EDU license costs 74 EUR /114 USD/ 67 GBP per license. To purchase a student license, you need to contact a reseller in your country:

- If you already own a V-Ray license and if you are among the winners of the Challenge, you can pick a V-Ray license for another platform. For example, if you use Max and Maya and only have V-Ray for Max, you can get a V-Ray license for Maya as a prize.

- Other software is also allowed when making your image; our only requirement is to use V-Ray as your renderer.

- Fictional decisive moments are as important as real ones! We won't impose any limitations over your creativity!

The Chaos Group Team
Old 05-17-2012, 01:56 PM   #12
Maya Petrova
Sofia, Bulgaria
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 34
V-Ray for Cinema4D

Hi Asier3d, V-Ray for Cinema4D is also allowed in the V-Ray Challenge
Old 05-17-2012, 04:56 PM   #13
New Member
pantoz's Avatar
sebastian laas
Cologne, Germany
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14

I also was wondering if there would be the possibility of a free vray licence for all participants of this challenge. I think for the mudbox challenge a time limited licence of mudbox existed.

I checked the faq. And it says:
What are the Final Image technical requirements?
Dimensions: At least 2560 x 1600 pixels or, at least 1600 x 2560 pixels. File type/extension: High quality JPG / .jpg

But the vray demo will only render at a max resolution of 600x450px. So,if i dont want to render in tiles, just use the demo will not work, .

I would realy like to participate in this challenge. But right now, i don´t have the money to buy a cgs-workshop or a vray licence.

It would be great if we could use the same licence as the workshop participans.

Thank you

V-Ray for Maya Demo Limitations

- produces watermarked images
- does not support Distributed Rendering
- reset the settings regularly
- max resolution 600x450
- up to 5 lights
Old 05-17-2012, 05:11 PM   #14
New Member
fares hafdi
nantes, France
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
can i make some compositing for the vray rendering image in photoshop or a similar program?
Old 05-17-2012, 06:53 PM   #15
New Member
jean-noel DEGAIN
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
problem to insert the image on the site

can give you the information to insert images WIP
then filing tansferer for final

because after multiple tests it is impossible
thank you




Pouvez vous donner les informations pour insérer les images WIP ( Travaux )

Puis pour transférer l'image final

car après multiples essais cela est impossible



Infographe 3d Autodidacte
reply share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.