Howlinghorse -- sketches/wips

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2006
Talking Howlinghorse -- sketches/wips

hullo I'm trying to improve my human art recently as I'm 16 and it wasn't until last year I started drawing humans... I was happy with horse drawing after horse drawing and then suddenly I realised I had never tried to paint a skin tone. Aaaaand now I'm on a learning curve and I love critique - savage, mean, harsh, fair, or friendly critique, I care not - but above all constructive critique as that is the point after all!

Anyway I'm glad I found this forum, I haven't posted much but everyone's so helpful and there is SO much talent. And I don't want to just improve with portraits and figures but with everything. And I find that talking to people about drawings is a great way to learn, and getting fresh viewpoints on pieces is so motivating! But enough of the long winded intro which makes not much sense as ...well, I never make much sense because I babble too much... so er anyway. onwards!

So to start... I drew this today for the daily sketch forum, topic of "First Love" - hands, my arch nemesises. (I have photoshop and a wacom tablet)

05 May 2006
First of all, Hello there HH Seen your stuff in the DSG lately

Nice to see another wildly enthusiastic person here, this place could use more of us crazy gals. I'm twice your age and I still find myself giddy about life It's a good place to be.

Regarding your hands here, there really quite good. I'm not sure if you used a reference but the only issue I really see is the hand in the back -- there is a couple things about the fingers that make it hard to read (but that is only becuase I'm inspecting it to crit it --- actually, upon first 'glance' it looks just fine)

As far as practicing anatomy, I don't know if you have found the Anatomy Forum yet, but it's a wonderful place to start