Sci Fi CityScape WIP

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

Old 07 July 2014   #1
Sci Fi CityScape WIP

Hello!

I was hoping to get some feedback on this. I'm relatively new to digital painting and I am working towards becoming a concept artist. My goal with this piece is to make a city scene that you may see in a sci fi movie or game. The main emphasis I want to be on the ship. Anyways this is my first post and I really want to take this to a more finished, portfolio ready piece. Any thoughts, advice, criticisms or general musing are welcome!

Old 07 July 2014   #2
The values are pretty good, and the overall layout is fairly solid. The main problem I see right now, is the placement of the ship itself.

I just gave a critique to another aspiring concept artist who had the exact same problem in his composition. You can read it here: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=1201998

With yours, it's the back and the front of the ship, both touching parts of the architecture just at the edges of the contour.

Try moving the ship back a bit, and maybe also resize the ship to be smaller, so its visual weight/size isn't so similar to the base of the building in front of it. You can also move the ship back a bit further and extend the canvas on the right a bit. Another approach is to enlarge the ship so it's much bigger and closer to the foreground, which will make the scale difference between it and the foreground figures more dramatic, increasing the visual drama of the scene.

Old 07 July 2014   #3
WIP City update

Thanks for the feedback. I am very much thinking of the narrative and composition first, and maybe not enough about values and design. I tried to moving the ship around and have added more detail in general. Now I am trying to find a solution to the bottom center of the piece. What are the figures looking at?