Old 05-12-2013, 06:25 AM   #1
Cymps
Veteran

portfolio
dor ben dayan
3d artist
cant say, Israel

a farm concept

I'm an animation student going through his final project, and I'm now designing the environment for my short video,

the story is of a father and his wild son who work in a farm. the father tries to teach his son about the importance of taking care of the crops but his son just wants to play and while doing so wrecks the farm.

I want the environment to be playful, to match the son's spirit, but I want the colors to emit a rather "boring" feel to the world, to go with the father's working image.

I wanted to ask you guys if you have any tips for improvement, in any aspect. lighting, colors, perspective, design, etc...

thanks

Old 05-13-2013, 03:08 PM   #2
ZombieMariachis
Frequenter

portfolio
Josh Hass
JoshHass.com
Owasso, USA

Can you link us up with some of your animation work? I love looking at all skill levels of animation since I fail completely every time I try.

As for your farm scene. The foreground values could be pushed a bit more to help convey depth. Here's a quick task you could try that's similar to how I test out value ideas. Duplicate all the layers of your illustration and merge the duplicates into one layer. Go to levels adjustment menu.

This tool.

Under the black, mountanous looking histogram thing, click and drag the center grey triangle slowly to the right. Just a tad, you won't have to move it very far. You can also drag the white triangle on the far right towards the center one if your lightest values start getting too dark. Once things have been darkened a little, confirm the changes. Now with a big fuzzy round brush erase the top portion of the layer that contains all the background elements. You may need to tinker with the layer's opacity setting as well if it's too dark.

Hopefully what you're left with will give you some idea of what darker values for your foreground would look like.