Character Critique

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Character Critique

Hello! I'm new to CG Society and as an aspiring character artist I felt it was necessary to gain the courage to start getting some feedback from other artists with a lot more experience.

This is my latest character. In the world she belongs to, she's supposed to be part of a committee of very powerful people. I chose all the gold silver and embroidery as well as the smirking mask and strong stance to exemplify her position of power.

Some things I'm unhappy with in all of my pieces is the color and blending. I always find it comes out kind of harsh on the eyes. Another thing is I really want to start understanding how to hint at texture and material in 2D work, I want someone to be able to see my work and know what each piece of clothing is made out of. Angled drawings are usually more difficult for me so I try to do them more often - the far shoulder is usually what I have the most trouble with when it comes to these. I always have an extremely hard time with good perspective, that's why I don't have a background here.

I'd like to know what I could do to improve and get to creating convincing, well designed characters. Thanks!

05 May 2013
Originally Posted by lchacon: Hello! I'm new to CG Society and as an aspiring character artist I felt it was necessary to gain the courage to start getting some feedback from other artists with a lot more experience.

This is my latest character. In the world she belongs to, she's supposed to be part of a committee of very powerful people. I chose all the gold silver and embroidery as well as the smirking mask and strong stance to exemplify her position of power.