Need critiques

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Need critiques

Hi guys,I made it only to improve my skills on painting but I'm a beginner.
Here Lunqtique give me some advices about how to make drawings,I'm still a beginner but I would like to know if I'm going "on the right track" or I have to continue or I'm wrong.
Here I post a "Mermaid" but I must paint the hair,the lips,the details and then change the color.
Sketch:

Paint:

Here there is a new paint: I made first on a paper and after that I painted it in PS.
Sketch:

Paint:

Here the reference: http://www.finewallpaperss.com/wp-c...ee-download.jpg

Last edited by Paky : 05 May 2013 at 01:11 PM.

05 May 2013

05 May 2013
"Hi guys,I made it only to improve my skills on painting but I'm a beginner."

-OK, I don't know what anyone else suggested to you in the past but I will just relate to you what I did in my youth when I first started drawing.
-I found an image from another artist and tried to replicate it. When you see a great picture do you think,"I can NEVER do that!"...or "How did they do that?" You might want to start off with comic book art, or some concept artist. Of course as a child I drew bugs / animals/ Godzilla...first from pictures then from memory.
-Do you have a sketchbook? You can just get a small one that fits in your back pocket and anytime you have to wait...the doctors office...getting the car taken care of...whatever, just sketch whatever inspires you.
-Have you looked up Tutorials? Google...use it.
-Lastly, does the program you use to paint with have an opacity value for the brush? Might want to sketch the image at about 50% opacity and paint the color with 30% opacity. Decide the lighting and paint in the shade in grey-scale. Build up the values. Does the program have layers? Have the sketch on one layer and the paintings on another layer.