CGTalk > WIP > WIP/Critique: 2D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:46 AM   #1
Jan Vavrusa
Graphic designer
London, United%2BKingdom

Elven lands - matte painting

Hello, so this is my first attempt to a matte painting. The inspiration clearly came from the LOTR and the Hobbit movies as I have watched them all over again and felt like I had to try that. I've used some of my own photos from Norway and a few stock images from CGTextures. I've spent quite a long time as I was learning the process on-the-go and although the overall feeling is quite nice to me and the fantasy mood is there, the image still looks slightly flat. Any critiques would be appreciated, since I'm a self-taught hobbyist. Thanks!

Old 04-03-2013, 12:16 AM   #2
Timothy Eustace Major
Environment and Layout Artist
Flying Bark Productions
Erskineville, Australia
Hey Janvavrusa!

This looks absolutely amazing! especially if it's your first attempt. I'm only just starting to learn about Matte painting through a course, so there isn't a whole lot of advice I can give.

I guess from my beginners point of view, I think the foreground mountains look flat, almost like it's on a card. Unfortunately I don't know enough on how you might be able to fix this or even exactly why it looks 2D to me. Maybe the lighting is too even from the top of the mountain to the bottom of the mountain (like on the left most mountain), so it looks like it has the same light flat across the whole thing. Does that makes sense?

Sorry I can't offer much more advice than this. Either way, it looks really awesome, and I'm jealous that you've made that on your first attempt ^_^

Well done!
Old 04-11-2013, 01:14 AM   #3
Pragmatic Dreamer
CGTalk Forum Leader
Robert Chang
Lincoln, USA