Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-14-2013, 10:00 AM   #1
MatthewMizak

portfolio
Matthew Mizak
Computer Graphic
Lodz, Poland

Valkyrie (critique request)

I have done this while ago on Contest entry. It is Valkyrie from nordic mythology with a little twist. As I want to improve and be better as a digital painter I am asking for critique what to do to create something with more impact. What mistakes did I made with this one etc. Also did I designed something wrong within the char?
Thank you for each comment.

Old 03-28-2013, 02:37 AM   #2
Lunatique
Pragmatic Dreamer

CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Robert Chang
Artist|Writer|Composer
Photographer|Director
Lincoln, USA

For a lot of people, blatant sexualization in designs that shouldn't be overtly sexual is very off-putting. It feels gratuitous, vulgar, and juvenile, as well as lacking common sense. For example, many people hate seeing warrior females wearing almost nothing, which is completely pointless because why would anyone dress in such sexualized manner for battle?

Other than that, your anatomy/figure has major problems. There's no structural integrity to your figure (the entire torso looks wrong), and it looks like you didn't even try to shoot references to check your proportions. Everybody has a camera today, and even if you have to take photos of yourself with a mirror/tripod, it's still better than not using proper references and making glaring mistakes.

Old 03-28-2013, 07:00 AM   #3
MatthewMizak

portfolio
Matthew Mizak
Computer Graphic
Lodz, Poland

Thank you very much for the advices. I will try to take a closer look into anatomy next time. The origin was from the reference file but mayby I just overdo it. I am really grateful.

Old 03-28-2013, 08:40 AM   #4
BillyWJ
Frequenter
portfolio
William White
www.FusedArts.com
Katonah, United States