Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 08-24-2012, 07:04 PM   #1
Ltiva
portfolio
Nejc Vračko
Ruše, Slovenia

Kitty Heaven

Greetings,

I'd love some feedback on these paintings/drawings please. I'm an aspiring wannabe illustrator.

Cheers, Iva

Last edited by Ltiva : 08-24-2012 at 07:08 PM.

Old 08-27-2012, 08:01 AM   #2
Lunatique
Pragmatic Dreamer

CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Robert Chang
Artist|Writer|Composer
Photographer|Director
Lincoln, USA

Below is the standard reply I use when I see beginner artists who are asking for critiques in the WIP forums:

It's really hard to critique works from artists who are still very early in their artistic development, just like how it's very hard to critique someone's language skills if they are just starting to learn a new language, because so much of what they do is wrong.

To critique beginner's work would no longer be critique--it would become instruction in all the basics, because you would have to explain every aspect of the visual art foundation in detail and how they related to the mistakes made in the image--from composition, perspective, values, lighting, tonal composition, atmospheric perspective, color temperature, color contrast, radiosity/color bleed, deceptive colors, contextural color illusions, anatomy, figure, psychological and physiological roots of body language and facial expressions, aesthetic sensibility, hierarchy of edges, brushwork, line quality, visual storytelling techniques, and so on.