Old 07-04-2011, 09:26 PM   #1
hamzaaa
portfolio
Björn Frechenhäuser
Wiesbaden, Germany

Send a message via ICQ to hamzaaa
Approaching the 3D World

Hello everyone,

my name ist Björn (sorry it's hard to pronounce), I am 22 years old and I live in Germany. Recently I graduated from University as Bachelor. I did a course called "Digital Media: Animation & Games". In this course we got taught all the basics related to Animation and Games. Unfortunately I wasn't sure to specialize on something like modelling, animation or stuff like that, but that's what I wanna do now.
My passion lays within Computergames and 3D modelling, so my preferred path would obviously be modelling for computergames. During studies I got first experience on modelling but mostly for short animation movies.

My questions to you guys would be:

1. How and where to start learning modelling for computergames? (Tutorials, resources..?)
2. Do I need to have traditional Art skills to become a 3D modeller?
3. What are the best steps I can do next? (Learning by doing, theory work, internship..?)
4. Are there any independent remote projects where I can gain experience?
5. Is there any good literature regarding 3D modelling (for games?)
6. What else do I need to know apart from modelling?

I know many questions but for me as a newbie I have to ask question no matter what!
Also have a little gallery of my first ever made 3D models (Max). Those weren't game models, those were made for an animated short.
Link: https://www.dropbox.com/gallery/360...20shop?h=db9e5e
Comments and critiques are demanded

Thank you for your time and patience!!

Greets
Björn aka hamzaaa

PS: I posted this thread 2 times before but something went wrong, I hope there aren't double or triple posts hiding somewhere in the Forum. If there are, I am sorry ^^

Last edited by hamzaaa : 07-04-2011 at 09:59 PM.

Old 07-06-2011, 09:43 PM   #2
Meloncov
Expert

portfolio
Kevin Baker
Freelance Modeller
Oakland, USA

Quote: