How To Get Into the Industy, Entertainment Design/ Concept Art

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2011   #1
How To Get Into the Industy, Entertainment Design/ Concept Art

I'm a Swedish 18 years old student trying to find a way in the world. I've been drawing monsters and landscapes ever since my arms could lift a pencil. I feel I will not be able to live off my family's generosity for much longer and must start carrying the burden of my own weight.

Though I'm a good c++ programmer and fluent in maths and physics I've always known I would eventually end up making a living in the entertainment industry as a concept artist or something similar.

I am not trained as an artist, I did not attend an art and aesthetic school but a school of technology. I never was very interested in the exteriors of old Moscow or French theatre during the 1800century, I rather study programming and computer science.

Now however I'm trying to find a high school education suitable for a concept artist or entertainment designer. I simply can't find anything. Every search including terms like visual, graphic or design just brings you uninteresting educations not related to the entertainment industry. There are pleanty of schools for animation and 3d but next to nothing for any kind of entertainment related 2d art.

Can I make an entertainment designer or concept artist of myself through an education in 3d arts. How am I to make it into the industry?

Also though I believe I have good enough art skills to make it as an artist but I would very much like it confirmed. Please anyone experienced take a quick glance at some of my stuff.
[ SPOILER - Click to reveal ]
Spoiler:
There is more at My DevianArt profile.

Old 03 March 2011   #2