Starting from scratch with regret

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2011   #1
Starting from scratch with regret

Hi, firstly this is a great place to come and I feel it is time for me to jump into the world of CG.
I have throughout my life had a fascination with cg and have always wanted to get involved with it but never got round to it. I studied video production at uni and my love of cg/animation got left behind. Now I'm 30 and regretting everyday that I didn't start working in cg and animation 10 years ago. This now means that, with a mortgage , I can't just go back to university and leave my job to study again.

I'd like to start learning CG in the evenings/weekends. Are the online courses good enough to get a total beginner up to a standard where I could go out and get a job as a 3d graphics artist? And would you recommend a certified course, or is there enough FREE material out there (on youtube etc) to learn from the ground up? My target is to be fully competent after 1 years study and to start looking for work. Am I being ignorant? Is this a mammoth /impossible task.

Many thanks for reading.

Old 02 February 2011   #2
One of the best places for beginners to learn CG is Digital Tutors. It's $45 (usd) per month for access to their video library (some thing like a few hundred total). All of their videos are of great quality and are really beginner friendly. Their videos can probably take you to an intermediate level. After that I'd suggest Gnomon videos. Gnomon videos are great if you have a grasp of what it is they are talking about, but are not beginner friendly. After that point it's mostly just you fiddling and getting to a point where you feel you can do the job.

There are also some decent online classes you can take. I know this site hosts some classes, Gnomon has some online classes, Animation mentor is pretty good for animators.