Gnomon Workshop Help!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2011   #1
Gnomon Workshop Help!

Is introduction to character modeling with mark dedecker Worth the money?
i am very new at ZBrush and A little experienced with maya, so is it a good buy?
Or should i get Introduction to maya fluid effects?
Any suggestions will be appreciated, Thank you.

Old 02 February 2011   #2
If you are new I don't suggest Gnomon DVDs. Gnomon DVDs are great if you already have some knowledge of the programs going in. They are less teaching you how to use the program and more showing how a specific person goes about doing stuff.

Personally I suggest Digital Tutors. They are much better for beginners and intermediate artists. Their focus is much more on how the program works and how to do things correctly. But Digital Tutors lacks for professional artists, because they are more in need of finding new ways to do the things they already know how to do.

For example, introduction to Maya. Gnomon's video is some thing like 5 hours of a general overview of some things. You learn about making objects and moving them around and such. Doesn't really give a good introduction. Digital Tutor's video is 11 1/2 hours and goes over every large aspect of CG. They also use a hands on approach in which you create a pod-racer from start to finish. You learn modeling, texturing, lighting, dynamics, scripting (slightly touches on it), animation, and rendering. At the end of the video you have at least a simple understanding of each of those areas and how to use them. And you get the satisfaction of having built some thing in Maya.

Also most Gnomon DVDs are around $40-$60 each. Digital Tutors is $50 a month and it gives you access to all of their couple hundred videos.

Time To Answer A Question: 15 Minutes
Time To Thank Someone For An Answer: 30 Seconds

Post of Wisdom

Old 02 February 2011   #3