Starting CG Arts for technical ppl

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2010   #1
Starting CG Arts for technical ppl

Hi guys,

I am currently studying for a CS degree, but I would also like to start learning CG art as a side thing( from the artistic perspective) . I am considering on going further with my education on CG( technical side ). Thus, I think its better to learn both parts of the industry.

Besides, starting this stuff may give me a break from CS subjects .

If I would like to start CG arts, would it be better if I'd start with some basic drawing classes or should I get directly involved with modelling and stuff. I have some basic knowledge of applications like Max, Blender, Maya and I have done a few tutorials in them.

However there are parts of tutorials where one is instructed to " change your objects that they resemble a figure" (which you can see in the book/video) . Since I do not have an artistic vision I am sometimes having a hard time doing that.

Old 11 November 2010   #2
If you dont have artistic background.. you just cant expect your animation or models to look good, why? cause you need to learn the human figure, its proportions, what goes where, how it works in conjunction with all the other parts, perspective, now this is just my opinion: Drawing experience is a must, if you want to succed in CG.

So my advice, take drawing classes, practice a lot, learn the figure, draw from life, meanwhile, you can learn how to use the software, like getting used to the user interface and what does what, so when you are ready to move on to CG, you go right to the good stuff, cause you already know how the software works.

Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.

Old 11 November 2010   #3