Universities with Great Animation Courses?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

10 October 2010
Universities with Great Animation Courses?

So im in my final Year of High school and im looking at universities now. Ive decided to pursue a course in Animation but i need help deciding schools.

About me -
- Decent Drawer (Im not amazing but im not bad)
- Great with Photoshop
- Lack any real experience with animating programs other than Flash

So i was wondering if universities accepted students who lacked any real experience with animation however really wants to pursue it? I was thinking maybe taking a foundations course (Which universities such as VFS provide?)

Im looking for univeristies which have a campus preferably as even though universities provide me knowledge about all this for the next 3-4 years, i wont enjoy any of it without a social factor. (University of Heartfordshire looks great however im unsure of their acceptance on new comers to animation)

Looking at Canada, UK, Australia and America (Not so much due to price)

If you guys could help me out that would be great!

Last edited by Nmanpillay : 10 October 2010 at 07:31 AM.

10 October 2010
Yup most schools assume you know little or no animation.

" i wont enjoy any of it without a social factor."

I'm not sure how social you mean but if you are looking for the typical college experience (few parties, late nights, weekends), then be sure you talk with the school about the hours you are expected to do. Schools like Gnomon and VFS are expecting you to pull 70+ hour weeks.