3D Graphics/Animation Careers

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2010   #1
Smile 3D Graphics/Animation Careers

First of all, i'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask about this but i have been searching for so long and honestly can't find any info on this. I'm very interested in 3d design, animation, modeling, etc. and i would love to go to school for it. But first i have a few questions. Also i'm sorry if these are ridiculous questions but i'm very new to all of this so please bear with me.

• Do most schools make you choose one specific course of study within 3d design? i.e. character modeling, animation, architecture modeling, etc.
  • If i went to school for 3d design/animation how easy would it be to find a career in it after?
  • If i don't go to school for it and learn it on my own what are my chances of finding a career? I have 5 years of photoshop experience and i am planning on getting into 3d design and using the skills together to find a career in 3d modeling/texturing/animating/etc. Freelancing seems like an awful idea because most jobs i've found are people paying money for a single model/animation, with hundreds of people already bidding so it seems like a very slim chance of making any money that way.
I'm 18 years old and i'm very interested in building my life around this career. I found barely ANY information on this searching online so any help would be really appreciated.

Old 08 August 2010   #2
Well firstly there is a lot of forum threads about this, you should maybe check again with different search criteria.
The smart thing about going to school to learn things, is that it takes you thru ALL the methods of making models, animating and so on. So that will give you more options if youre a generalist or have more than one task in your firm. If you intend to specialize however, it doesnt matter that much.