Path to Pixar

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

06 June 2010
Path to Pixar

Hey,

I'm currently 17 years old and studying Graphic Design in The Netherlands, I started working with Photoshop when I was quite young so I pretty much know a lot about it (much more than Illustator).

I've also discovered that the school I'm currently studying at (Media College Amserdam) pretty much start from the basics which makes me think I'm just wasting my time and money here. I'm also going to quit with that school.

I would love to work at Pixar one day (yes probably a lot of people say this haha, but to be honest any other movie company is cool as-well or even games only at this moment I'm liking Pixar the most of course). Only I have actually no idea what my options are, can I stay at 2D and be a digital painter for them (if so which sort of skills do I need to master) or do you have to study 3D Animations before even getting considered? Also like I said I'm 17 years old now and I was wondering which schools are good for me to follow, and where. I would love them in The Netherlands of course but well if there aren't any here then I might have to move out.

I would love to stay at 2D and learn how to digital paint properly (I heard Gnomon school was pretty good for that, right?) and work at Pixar with those skills, but if 3D animation knowledge is necessary than I probably will learn them.

So I actually need some more info about it all and I would really appreciate it if you could help me out a bit.

Thanks in advice,
Leon van Zijl

06 June 2010
Do you just want to stay in Holland?
Because then there aren't that many options available to you other then what you are already doing.

If you are willing to move, the Vancouver film school in Canada is excellent.
Not your only option, but an excellent school.