how to be good character modeler

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2010   #1
how to be good character modeler

hi everyone ;

i'm a beginner to 3d Graphics i'm now learning autodesk maya

i want to be professional modeler and specially in character modeling

so what is the bath i should follow and what is the lessons i need for this

finally what are the other specialtities that character modeler needs , i mean shading , lighting , texturing etc...

thanks

Old 05 May 2010   #2
"so what is the path i should follow and what is the lessons i need for this"
Not sure what you mean by that exactly.

As a modeler you should also know how to texture. You should know a bit about everything in CG, but just focus on modeling and texturing.

Also you may want to look into Z Brush. I have found that if you are modeling organics you will want to work in Z Brush, while if you are modeling hard surfaces (cars, houses, objects) you will want Maya (or a sister program).

Time To Answer A Question: 15 Minutes
Time To Thank Someone For An Answer: 30 Seconds

Post of Wisdom

Old 06 June 2010   #3
I was actually wondering something concerning character modeling. I'm currently going through the digital tutors character modeling with maya but have seen there is a character creation with zbrush tutorial as well using a base mesh made within zbrush and developing a character from that. Which one should I be doing?

I've also got a gnomon character creation DVD which creates a character entirely from zbrush and the creator supposedly uses this 'quicker' method for some films he's been involved in. So, is it that characters for games go through the maya/3ds max and then to zbrush for detailing route and characters/creatures for films and such can be made entirely from zbrush?

I just want to know which tutorial I should be focusing on also.

Thanks for any insight.

Old 06 June 2010   #4