Need some career advice/suggestions/comments...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2010
Smile Need some career advice/suggestions/comments...

First, thank you for taking the time to read my post and possibly commenting. This is an inspiring community with a wonderful vibe.

To give a little glimpse of my background, I graduated college in Fall 08' with a degree in Public Relations and Minor in Television - Radio - Film. Since 2007, I've been working full time for the government. I'm 27 years old, and realize that I don't want to be working here for the rest of my life. Since last year, I've been doing some serious soul searching and extensive research, to find that I truly want to be a 3D animator, of course, working for the big name companies like Pixar, Dreamworks, or any game studio. Should you have it any other way?

That being said, I understand nothing comes over night. I know I'll have to work my butt off and be very dedicated to this new endeavour.

Now, what do you guys think of my plan(s)?

Before I jump into any 3D related courses, I want to take the time and harness my traditional art skills, specifically Drawing. I believe the better you are on paper, the better you'll be when you translate it on the computer. I don't believe in spending tens of thousands of dollars in art programs, especially Drawing, but one program that caught my eye, is U.C. Berkeley's Extention program: Post Bachelor degree in Visual Arts, which from I read, is a decent program, and cost less than $5,000. Here's their website: http://extension.berkeley.edu/cert/visualarts.html

Now, I'll be still working full-time, this would be done at night. So, I give myself about a good 1 1/2 years to complete this program.