Advice on some courses

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2010
Question Advice on some courses

Hello all. I'm an Australian high school student in my final year. So, I'm coming to the point in my school experience where I have to start thinking about what course I want to do in university. I'd like to be a concept artist or a games designer or something - something that would combine my love of telling stories with my love of art and games would be amazing.

As far as I can tell, I have a few options -

Bachelor of Fine Arts - Victorian College for the Arts

This looks like a fantastic course. It's 9am-6pm, five days a week, for 3 years. Intense. I have no doubt this would vastly improve my artistic abilities. However, I'm not sure it would be the best avenue into what I want to do. It's also incredibly competitive - 20-30 spots, for about 2000 applicants, determined through a submitted portfolio.

Bachelor of Fine Arts elsewhere

Not as intense or competitive - I'm not sure there would be the same benefits. Same doubts.

Bachelor of Information Technology (Game Design)

Most of the courses I've seen are kind of dodgy in some way or another. I'm not kidding, one of the description for the course starts off with:
Quote: This is an exciting area of IT, due to the popularity of systems such as Xbox, Playstation and GameCube.

. 'nuff said.

Bachelor of Multimedia and Digital Arts

As far as I can tell this is more gauged towards advertising kind of graphic design, and web design, but I'm not sure.

Can anyone give advice on which course would be the best to get into this industry? Should I focus on maximizing my skill as an artist? As a storyteller? As a programmer or a designer?

Thanks in advance.

04 April 2010