Going the Self Taught Route

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2010   #1
Smile Going the Self Taught Route

I've been looking for a decently priced school for art for awhile, but have come to the conclusion that im either going to be in debt or teach myself, so im choosing to teach myself. I am going to buy one of the big name 3d programs, and I was wanting to get some feedback on what the job market is like between them. I intend to stick to modeling (low and high poly) to start, and then rigging and animation, with effects and whatnot to sum it up. I know I will be buying from autodesk, and I honestly like the interface of Max and Maya, but i've heard that Max is more widely used. If thats correct then that would be the direction that I would want to take, but if not please correct me on that assumption.

I have been buying all of the animation and 3d books that are required of students at universities, and I see getting a loan for the software would be much cheaper than getting the education and having a student non commercial software. Thank you for your replies.

Old 03 March 2010   #2
One thing you can be sure is that employers will look at your demo reel, not your diploma. This is a good new if you got natural talent. Start a personal project and learn your soft doing it, its the best way I found to learn the soft and get a new piece for my demo. There is good tutorials out there, just search a bit. I use a lot of F1 key too for functions that im not familiar with.

As for maya vs 3ds, both are nice. The old way was to go to Maya/Xsi if you wanna do FX for movies vs go 3ds max if you wanna work in the game industry. Houdini is more and more used in CG for movies too.

Get the demo or educational version before you buy the license to see if it fit the bill.