Old 06-15-2009, 01:30 PM   #1
rashi
Frequenter
portfolio
rashiga walallawita
Colombo, Sri Lanka

posibility of doing phd in 3d animation

hi guys i hope this thread want be banned

im a sri lankan in sri lanka there's no art schools to do 3d animation(degree)

but i have a great passion and dedication for 3d animation

im currently studying to get to the computer engineering faculty in my university

so i would like to know is there any possibility that i can do my higher studies(masters/phd)i 3d animation?

thankyou

Old 06-15-2009, 02:07 PM   #2
Couture
Expert

portfolio
Kevin Couture
Canada

There are Masters degrees, but from what I gathered are only useful to have to be able to teach at accredited institutions. As far as a PHD, why would you want one in 3D animation? I don't believe such a thing exists anyhow.

Old 06-15-2009, 02:30 PM   #3
Kev3D
Agent

portfolio
Kevin Russell
3D Artist
Kevisual
London, GB

Send a message via MSN to Kev3D
I'm sure I've seen a few animations which were a major part of a thesis. You have to be a bit creative, it can't be just a 3D animation (how is that research?) but maybe it could be related to virtual reality, new dynamic solvers, faster rendering algorithms, etc.

Old 06-15-2009, 02:55 PM   #4
rashi
Frequenter
portfolio
rashiga walallawita
Colombo, Sri Lanka

thanks guys any way i hate to be a engineer, coz my dad want me to be engineer,i just want to be a 3d artist but im not able to do my career in 3d in sri lanka coz there's not much industry here

so only option is to get abroad
and this cannot be done because my family dont have that kind f money

so the only possible way for me is to work hard and get to computer engineering and do masters or higher studies and get in to the industry

as long as i can do 3d stuff im happy to do what ever research and get into the industry

Old 06-15-2009, 03:05 PM   #5
Paul McLaughlin
Know-it-All

Kevin Miles
USA