Something That My Design School Gave Me That Has Me CONFUSED!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2008   #1
Something That My Design School Gave Me That Has Me CONFUSED!

So im starting college on Oct 6th at IADT (International Academy for Design and Technology) and im studying for a BS degree in Game Design. So i went today to get my books and I.D and all that stuff. I was supprised at how much extra stuff they give you that you would have to actually pay for. BUT GET THIS! When i went home and opened up all my stuff guess what they gave me and probably every student, playing cards and dice? yea, what? It was included in a proper design kit and everything. Everything they gave me was to do with what courses i had for the semester, i have drawing so they gave me drawing pads and supplies, i have intro to game design, so they gave me 3d design and animation books. I was thinking they gave it to me for my math classes but i dont have any this semester and i only have college algebra and Logic.

So my question to you guys, and guys who have gone to game design schools, is there any significance with the cards and dice? Does that help with anything to do with game design? Or am i just blowing this WAY out of preportion.

Ive got pics of what they gave me including the cards and dice on my blog HERE.

Old 09 September 2008   #2
They're for gambling, silly. Now grab a couple of fellow students and start taking bets

Or maybe they handed them out as a reminder that the simplest games are sometimes the best?

Old 09 September 2008   #3
Originally Posted by noouch: They're for gambling, silly. Now grab a couple of fellow students and start taking bets

Or maybe they handed them out as a reminder that the simplest games are sometimes the best?