Advice for student hard surface artist.

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

01 January 2018
Advice for student hard surface artist.

Hello, I'm a 16 year old young artist. Ever since I was young and watching films like "Star wars" formed a love in me for spaceships and
sci-fi vehicles of all kinds. A few months ago I discovered 3D software
like Cinema 4D and immediately knew what I wanted to use this software
for. Fast forward a few months and I am now a novice hard surface artist
in Maya. My dream is to make hard surface assets for Film, TV or Games.

My question is how did people here learn to model? Did they take a course? Practice, Practice, Practice? I really want to develop my skills further but have no idea how to do it.
I feel the best way (as a 16 year old doing a certificate in general
education) would just be to practice, as a course would take up to much
time and stress. My worry with just practice is that I might miss out on
industry standard techniques that are fundamental to efficient
modeling. Thoughts?I also feel it is much more important to develop a portfolio than it is to have a course
(although impressive on a resume). Thus, I think developing my rendering
and texturing skills (of which I have none) should maybe also be on my
agenda.

I'd also like to know if Maya is the best pathway for me. I love it's interface and am comfortable with how it works, but if I need to switch to 3DS I'd rather know now rather than later.Regards, Tom.

03 March 2018
As a self taught HS modeller, I'd suggest learning from pro authored paid workflows. Nowadays there's heaps too choose from either Gumroad, Pluralsight, or Gonmon, so not only are these tutes reasonably priced but generally are intuitively narrated for any skill level to takle. here's an example:

Tim Bergholz
 - Hardsurface props in 3ds Max & Substance Painter

http://gumroad.com/timb