GPA and 3D Animation/Concept Art schools entry

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

06 June 2014
Red face GPA and 3D Animation/Concept Art schools entry

Hello guys!
So I would I like to ask you all the people here who have studied 3d animation/modelling , concept art , illustration or anything related , about how much impact did the High school GPA [grade point average] have on their school entry and their career .

What I mean is if you can enter to very good or even the best schools , but have graduated with a non-decent GPA ( regardless of portfolio and other qualifications ) and then get hired at a company or be a freelancer ( and make a living ) .

I graduated 3 days ago , and my GPA was 17.83/20 ( I think that's 4.25/5 if you want to convert it on US standards ) . My art skills are not the best , although I have to work on them. i have several other qualifications and I'm self-taught on photoshop.

Hope I was clear and my words didn't sound stupid .

Last edited by visionarymindful : 07 July 2014 at 05:54 AM.

07 July 2014
It depends on the school!

Honestly, each school is different. Some schools require strong academic credentials such as RISD, USC, UCLA etc. Some schools aren't as academically oriented such as School of Visual Arts, Pratt Institute, Corcoran,, but these school are usually much more portfolio oriented.

No matter what, each school does have some minimum cutoffs for GPAs and SATs regarding admission. Moreover, strong academic credentials can garner some scholarship money that you wouldn't get otherwise. You will have to research each school with regard to all this.

07 July 2014
For a good art school the portfolio will be more important than a GPA.