CGTalk > Main > Education
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 12-25-2013, 07:44 PM   #1
SupremeAlfax

portfolio

I'm an EU citizen that doesn't qualify as an EU student in the UK. Where do I study?

Hello, cgsociety!
I wanted to know if you guys have any information regarding schools or universities for 3D animation or animation in video games. Unlike other people I've seen posting in this forum, my situation is peculiar, to say the least.
I'm an EU citizen, but I grew up and went to school in Chile, South America. I graduated from a german high school, which means that applying for university in Germany was somewhat easy for me, as they recognize my qualifications. I have always liked the idea of working on the games industry, but I never knew what I really wanted to do (besides design, which is something I have been studying for a while now with books and... video games). I thought that programming might be my thing, and I decided to apply for Computer Science in Germany. Surprisingly, programming wasn't what I thought. I had programmed before in school, and I really liked it, but my programming classes in university were mostly theoretical and the rest of my classes were math, math, and math. I know, I should have expected something like that, but sadly I didn't. I quit university in search for something that might fit my interests better, and then I realised I had never considered 3D modelling and animation. I've used 3ds Max in the past, and loved the idea of creating stuff with it.