Gnomom Workshop or Digital Tutors

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

Old 11 November 2013   #1
Gnomom Workshop or Digital Tutors

Hello everyone, and i apologise for my bad english, my first language is Portuguese.
I'm completely new to the CG world. I really want to learn 3d, but i don't know where to start. I have blender installed for now, while i wait my father to buy Autodesk maya for me. So, i have been looking around for some tut sites and liked two sites: Digital Tutors and Gnomom workshop. I'm planning on subscribing to this sites, but first i want to know from you guys which one is better for begginers. I really need to start from scratch, learn the basic tools and so on. And if you know any other site or dvd library that i should buy feel free to tell me
Thanks for the attention.

Old 11 November 2013   #2
For blender:
cg cookie and blender guru

Maya. You can download the student version of maya for free, all the features but what you make cannot be used commercially.

For beginners, use digital tutors and gnomon helps as you know the software.

For now I would recommend blender. I can use maya, zbrush and blender and I still think blender is my favourite.

Old 11 November 2013   #3
For a beginner, I'd definitely recommend Digital Tutors. Gnomon's videos are generally aimed for people with a couple years of experience.

Old 01 January 2014   #4
Digital Turors is your best bet. It is designed mostly for beginners and intermediate artists. Gnomon is good but its for advansted users mostly. I recommend eat3d also, but first learn the basics from Digital Tutors.

Old 01 January 2014   #5
Originally Posted by Meloncov: For a beginner, I'd definitely recommend Digital Tutors. Gnomon's videos are generally aimed for people with a couple years of experience.

Precisely. Also, don't overlook youtube. There are plenty of good quality, free tuts, if you dig around.