What's the best free, online trainin for Maya?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2013   #1
What's the best free, online trainin for Maya?

Sorry if there are other threads about this, I couldn't find anything that was up to date that really answer my question...

I'm a 32 year old police officer, married with a 9 year old daughter. I have zero 3d modelling experience, I have a slight amount of level design experience from an Amnesia custom story I made. I have about 8-12 hours a week to try to learn modelling/animating and I'm on a pretty strict budget (being a cop doesn't pay too well).

What is the best and most efficient way I can learn skills quickly and get a job in this industry? I really can't afford some of the higher end online schools like gnomon or digital tutors. Is there a free online course that you would recommend to put me on the fast track?

I have been tinkering around in Maya 2013 for a month or so, just doing some of the Youtube tutorials that are out there. I feel like I'm pretty creative and I'm a pretty good artist with a pencil and paper and I really enjoy the idea of taking some primitive shapes and molding them into something awesome. So the passion and the inherent ability are there, I just need some advice to point me in the right direction. Thanks for any insight!

Old 08 August 2013   #2
Can anyone help me or?

Old 08 August 2013   #3