CGTalk > Main > Education
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 05-06-2013, 03:08 PM   #1
KLukasiewicz
portfolio
Kara Lukasiewicz
US

Where to start? Questions about education, hardware, and software...

Hi everyone,

This is my first post to any CG forum and I just created an account last week, so I am really new around here. I have already seen some really great posts about where to find free software and tutorials online.

Here is a little about myself and my general goals. I am interested in getting started in 2D/3D illustration/animation for biological sciences. I have an advanced degree in cancer biology and have worked in research lab for years. I am interested in making a huge career change from lab research to illustration and animation.

I have tons of questions, but here are a few that currently seem more pressing than others.

I need to buy a computer and tablet capable of handling the software required for this field. Could anyone provide general suggestions on the minimum requirements for a computer? - it can be Mac or PC-based. Also, suggestions for a tablet? I have heard lots of recommendations for Wacom Intuos tablets. I would really appreciate any ideas.

Perhaps one of the most overwhelming parts of this field are all the software options. I would like to start out with free software if possible, but would really appreciate some suggestions on what to start with.

And finally, the subject of formal education. Many medical illustrators/animators that I have met really feel that formal education - as in one of the four masters programs for medical illustration/animation - is essential to success in this field. Could you please comment on if you feel that a degree is necessary to make a living in this field?

Thank you for reading my post. I look forward to reading your comments and suggestions.

Thanks again,

KL

Old 05-12-2013, 06:57 PM   #2
AJ1
User

CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA