Computer Engineer with some experience box modeling looking to master CG as a hobby

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

09 September 2017
Computer Engineer with some experience box modeling looking to master CG as a hobby

Hey all,

Please pardon the overly long title (or don't if it gave you ideas clicking into the thread!)

As the title says I'm a computer engineer with a couple of years (600-800 hours) of box modeling under his belt. I loved it, but I hit a wall that I couldn't get past. There wasn't a way for me to get better because I didn't understand the theories behind what I was doing, I hadn't trained myself to see as an artist. In a similar way that anyone can learn to code scripts but learning the theory behind programming, understanding the discrete math involved in it and being able to convert code into equations to tweak it - I don't see as an artist.

I started into a studio art minor in my undergraduate degree, but I was stretched pretty thin as a double major already so I had to drop it. In the eight weeks I stuck with it I realized that my eye was completely untrained. I started on 3D modeling. In addition to starting to examine negative space starting to work with my hands to draw had a profound impact on my coordination. It was ridiculously awesome. I'd never been able to use chopsticks before - but on a whim I decided to try them while I was drawing for hours a day. I picked them up and ate with them with no problem - it was epic! I want to pursue this and see what else happens.

My goal is to put in about 500-1000 hours into art a year, so 1-2 hours a day. I expect to be somewhat competent after 1500-2000 hours.

So! Here are my questions:

-Does anyone here have tips or experience for someone with dysgraphia/dyslexia?

-Anyone have any experience with having one eye being severely dominant over the other?