CGTalk > Techniques > Animation
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-04-2013, 04:29 AM   #1
delusionalthomas

portfolio
USA

Musician looking to explore the craft

Hello, CGSociety! This is my first registration on a computer graphics forum, it's an art I'd like to learn more about and hopefully expand my knowledge on through discourse with the various individuals on this forum.

I'm a musician and producer currently working on some new projects and would love to learn whatever I can about the mechanics of computer graphics in any context, level, and width of perspective I'm able to create visuals for the projects of my friends and I. I'm sure that computer graphics is just as structured, exploratory, and nuanced as music and production as their own arts & sciences, so I figure I can maybe post a few videos with strong visual components and get feedback on the names of various techniques and effects to build my own understanding and connect with more talented visual artists through all this correspondence. I have rudimentary Photoshop knowledge and have dabbled in Adobe After Effects, but any program recommendations are encouraged ^_^

Here are a few music videos with central visual effects that I want to learn more about - if any of you watch these and recognize a possible technique that I could learn more about, feel free to leave feedback. I'm aware that I'm at the precipice of a vast amount of knowledge, so I'm mainly looking for places to start. Possible programs, plugins, etc. that I can use as starting points are all great

The Internet - "Cocaine"

The stretching effect at 2:30 on the child's face and eyes is intriguing, as are the other various "trippy" effects throughout the video - sections that look like one video signal being warped by stretching and color-contrasted against the main shot somewhat like layer burns, exposure, difference, etc. in Photoshop.

Jeremiah Jae - "Money And Food"