Old 10-19-2012, 09:45 AM   #1
insertmesh
Expert

portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

CAT like animation system with custom rig (3DS Max)

Hi,

Im currently working on a character for my new boss...
Weve talked about the setup and hew wanted me to use CAT to create the rig.

Since I keep getting into trouble with CAT, even though I like the idea of it, Im now trying to convince him to let me build a custom rig.

Im not very experienced in doing that, but following a couple of tutorials I managed to crank out a basic custom rig to show him its power...

But there are still a couple of things to consider:

My Boss would like to be able to save, load and mix animations like within CATs layer system.
So Ive looked into several solutions...

A) I know you can just save and load animations via the animation menu and as long as they are for the same character its pretty straight forward.

B) I tried using the animation layers from the animation menu to be able to mix several animations together ( like for example have some head movement on a seperate layer to be added locally to another animation).

First problem with this approach: Since Im adding the animation to a seperate layer I now have to remap everything, wich is annyoing and I also think my boss wouldnt want to have to take care of this process on his own.
Second Problem: As soon as I enable layers the frozen transforms no longer seem to work...

C) I also took my first look at the motion mixer.
At first glance this looked like the perfect replacement for CATs layer system.
But then I realized I couldnt keyframe my character manually anymore, I could only use saved clips...

So. Any ideas on a suitable workflow, anything Im missing?

Old 10-22-2012, 07:08 PM   #2
insertmesh
Expert

portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Hamburg, Germany

Just a kind bump, since I havent found a solution to my problems yet...

Old 11-01-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
robomojo
Frequenter