CGTalk > General Techniques > Modeling
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-22-2014, 10:32 PM   #1
figuare9
portfolio

Im looking for someone to try to make this "cuter" lol.

I'm a human modeler.. In fact, this is my first time trying to model a non human type creature. I'm trying to make a primary character for a video game and I'm trying to make him cute. I want to stay as close to the poly count of the base mesh as possible. The entire model is designed in quads, and would prefer to keep it that way.

Anyways, I'm curious if anyone here might have the artistic ability to try to make this model look more cute. I want his limbs to stay roughly the same, (without fingers, toes, etc) but his torso and head are definitely up for debate. Here's a picture of what I have..

I immediately knew I was getting into trouble when I started to make an alien type thing. Anyways, I suck at modeling things that aren't natural or normal to me.

If anyone here wouldn't mind helping me out, I'd appreciate it sooo much! I've uploaded the file to media fire so u can throw it in max.

.OBJ File
.MAX File

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help me here. I can model humans all day long, but I'm stumped here because I don't really have a reference point, or the artistic ability to go outside of the box.

Old 03-25-2014, 11:20 PM   #2
piperpam27
portfolio
Pete
USA

IMO, the best way to do character design is with pencil and paper (or stylus and photoshop, if you prefer). It's a way quicker way to explore options than opening your 3D program and trying to design as you go.

Old 03-26-2014, 07:47 AM   #3
MasonDoran
uhh...
portfolio
Mason Doran
Digital Artist
Freelance
Wien, Austria

Send a message via ICQ to MasonDoran Send a message via Yahoo to MasonDoran
why should other people do the work for you? You only learn by doing it yourself, including the research on what makes something cute.

Old 03-26-2014, 12:40 PM   #4
figuare9
portfolio