Begging a Journey

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2013   #1
Begging a Journey

Hi guys,
I don't know if this ir the right place to post but i need your help.
So i already have 22 and i feel like i'm letting my dream slip by my fingers, i love 3d and i would love to work on it for life.
The thing is that i cant go to any school because i work and have a daughter but i really want to do this so i need to learn the basis.
I want to know with what program to start and what to start learning and where i mean i want you guys to tell me like i was a fresh newbie student that didn't get anything of this.
Please help me make my dream come true and i will show you my effort and work.

Levi

Old 11 November 2013   #2
First things first, what's your goal?

Which discipline do you prefer? Characters, environments, weapons, vehicles? Would you rather work on games or movies / tv related? Do you prefer realistic work or Pixar style?

Old 11 November 2013   #3
Hy,
So i want to start on the really bases. The type of modeling i like is more gaming directioned like anime type games, dragon ball, naruto etc.
But i also like pixar type of modeling, what i want to do is more character and weapons not very much enviroment.

Old 11 November 2013   #4
Ok, something along the lines of what blizzard is doing i suppose. That style requires solid painting skills, ideally you'd spend years in a traditional art school but if that's not possible for you then find tutorials like these:

They're not free but these professional game artists deserve every cent you give them:
https://www.3dmotive.com/f101801

http://www.cgcircuit.com/lessondeta...ete.php?val=994

Old 11 November 2013   #5
Hello Levi,

Technical skill is just book knowledge that can be learned,
but artistic skill requires much more.

So the real question is, how good of an artist are you?