How long did it take you...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2013
How long did it take you...

I am a new member and new to Maya. I am trying to teach myself through dvd's and tutorials. But this is the toughest thing I have ever tried learning. I am paying off a useless bachelor's degree which is why I cannot go back to school to learn how do do this. (Which is what I should have went to college for originally).

So what I am asking, is if anyone else is self taught, how long did it take you to fully feel like you knew what you were doing and could model and animate?

For me, Iam hoping by the end of 2013 I can create a hockey goalie and animate him to make a few saves.

This is what I have so far:

They at least look what I was trying to model lol. But I changed the pattern on the paddle of the stick.

And that is what they actually look like.

I have taught myself guitar, drums, goalie, photoshop and after fx. But holy cow Maya is soooo hard to learn!

01 January 2013
It's like asking how long is a bit of string.

if you spent every waking moment living breathing maya, you could learn how to do what you would like to acheive in a few months, well to a certain level. an hour in the evening twice a week it could take you years.

Just keep going and you will get there!

01 January 2013
Originally Posted by jonnyseymour: It's like asking how long is a bit of string.

if you spent every waking moment living breathing maya, you could learn how to do what you would like to acheive in a few months, well to a certain level. an hour in the evening twice a week it could take you years.

Just keep going and you will get there!